Eng. Enrique Foster


Appointment by decree of the members of the Chaco Exploration Commission

The President of the Argentine Republic, Nicolás Avellaneda (1837-1885), promulgated on March 29, 1875 the regulatory decree of Law No. 686, which was endorsed by his Minister of the Interior, Simón de Iriondo (1836-1883), for the recognition of the territory and the choice of the most suitable places for the settlements of towns and cantons.

They are appointed by decree the Prussian surveyor Arthur Von Seelstrang (1838-1896) with the head of the northern border, Colonel Manuel Obligado (1838-1896), and at his request the surveyor Enrique Foster (1842-1916) on July 14, 1875.

On September 3, 1875, the Foster-Seelstrang Exploration Commission received the corresponding instructions for the traces of the colonies in the territory of the Province of Chaco and began its work in the north of the Argentine Republic.

Appointment of the surveyor Enrique Foster (1842-1916) by national decree as a member of the Chaco Exploration Commission. July 14, 1875.

Enrique Foster (1842-1916) / Surveyor

Enrique Foster y Kagel (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, August 2, 1842; - Buenos Aires, Argentina; October 15, 1916) was an Argentine colonizer and surveyor, founder of Monte Oscuridad and co-founder of the city of Resistencia, Province of Chaco, Argentina.

He was the youngest son of Ana Amalia Kagel y Assís, a Portuguese of German descent, and of the Portuguese colonizer Ricardo Foster (1808-1865), founder of San Jerónimo Norte and meritorious in the founding of the city of Esperanza in the Province of Santa Fe, Argentine Republic.

His parents settled in Rio de Janeiro for a few years and in 1843, they decided to emigrate to the Argentine Republic due to the yellow fever epidemic, settling in the province of Santa Fe, previously called Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz.

Enrique Foster had a prosperous career after receiving the title of public surveyor, for which he used the influences of his father Ricardo Foster (1808-1865). He is also the one who started him in Freemasonry in 1864.

In 1856 he carried out the First Census indicating families, number of individuals and lots awarded in the city of Esperanza, Province of Santa Fe.

As a result of Law No. 686 of October 6, 1874, sanctioned under the presidency of Domingo F. Sarmiento (1811-1888), in 1875, Arthur Von Seelstrang (1838-1896) and Enrique Foster (1842-1916) formed the Foster-Seelstrang Exploration Commission and began their work, which lasted from October 1875 to March 1876 with the purpose of delimiting three colonies; Timbó, Las Toscas and Resistencia. The latter called "Resistencia", because of the way in which the new peoples resisted against the hostile natives.

Finally, on May 31, 1876, the path to the Ministry was presented, where the 'Resistencia' area and it's characteristics were described. It's considered a work of incalculable historical value, which describes in great detail the area of ​​the Province of Chaco, its flora and fauna.

In 1886, Enrique Foster drew up the Graphic Register of Rural Properties of the Province of Santa Fe built by the Department of Topography. In July 1888, the measure of Monte Oscuridad was approved, presented by Enrique Foster and considered the founder of this city.

Enrique Foster died after a long life, without lack of achievements and recognition, on October 15, 1916 in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

This website is developed by Westcom, Ltd., and updated by Ezequiel Foster © 2019-2022.